2010 milestone for transition to digital television in Europe

In the latest report on the television industry from the European Audiovisual Observatory, 2010 is highlighted as a milestone year for the switch from analogue to digital transmission in Europe. The analogue switch-off has now taken place in 12 European countries (Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland). By January 2011, switch-off will also have taken place in Austria, Croatia, Iceland, Malta and Slovenia.

The report highlights that there are now Pay DTT (digital terrestrial television) services in 19 European countries (14 EU Member States), and the number of channels available on all the DTT platforms now totals more than 1460 (including approximately 700 local channels). HD channels are available on DTT in eight European countries.

However, the rollout of DTT has not been without its problems; Pay DTT has been cancelled or postponed in several countries, and the entire DTT launch delayed in others.

The full press release is available on the European Audiovisual Observatory website.

Publication date: 28 Oct 2010

See more
MEDIA calendar
MEDIA Social
Connect with us:

Agnieszka Moody, Francesca Walker
and Avalon Lyndon

c/o BFI, 21 Stephen Street, London W1T 1LN

Tel: +44 (0)20 7173 3221

Send an email

MEDIA Antenna Scotland

Emma Valentine

c/o Creative Scotland, 249, West George Street
Glasgow G2 4QE

Tel: +44 (0) 141 302 1776

Send an email

MEDIA Antenna Cymru / Wales

Judy Wasdell

c/o Creative Industries, Welsh Government, QED Centre, Main Avenue, Treforest Estate,
Pontypridd, CF37 5YR

Tel: +44 (0) 300 061 5637

Send an email

Enter a currency below:

= £

Current rate: €1 = £0.82720

View historic data